Cricket News

Wisden’s Team of the 2000s has been named! How many Pakistanis made it to the XI?

Legendary Pakistan fast bowler speedster Shoaib Akhtar has been named in Wisdens’ men’s Test team of the 2000s. The qualification was based on the appearances from January 1, 2000, to December 31, 2009.

Former South Africa’s skipper Graeme Smith and veteran Indian opener Virender Sehwag kick things off in the batting department.

The wall of cricket, Rahul Dravid, and Australia’s most successful skipper ever, Ricky Ponting were placed at number three and fourth respectively to form a staggering middle-order.


View this post on Instagram


A side fitted with some all-time greats. Who should be 12th man? #testcricket #wisden #lovecricket #thenoughties

A post shared by Wisden (@wisden_cricket) on

Smith is joined in the team by his long-time friend and one of the game’s all time great allroudners, Jacques Kallis. Sri Lanka’s all-time leading run-getter Kumar Sangakkara comes in at 6. Australia’s Adam Gilchrist was picked as the wicket-keeper at number 7.

Australia’s Glenn McGrath and Akhtar were named as the frontline pacers whereas Sri Lanka’s Muttiah Muralitharan and Shane Warne, the top two leading wicket-takers in Test cricket were picked as the spinners.

Wisden’s men’s Test team of the 2000s: Graeme Smith, Virender Sehwag, Rahul Dravid, Ricky Ponting, Jacques Kallis, Kumar Sangakkara, Adam Gilchrist, Glenn McGrath, Shoaib Akhtar, Shane Warne, Muttiah Muralitharan

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top